Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award

The Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award is presented by the Technical University of Munich (TUM) and the chemicals company Clariant to promote excellent performance in the field of catalysis, including bio-catalysis and White Biotechnology.

The award is named after Dr. Karl Wamsler who died in 2016. Wamsler was one of the most important and formative figures in post-war German chemistry. He was also a generous patron when it came to supporting science and the arts and was named TUM Honorary Senator in 2015. The award was introduced in 2017 and carries a monetary award of €50,000.

The award winners:

President of the Technical University of Munich, Professor emeritus of Inorganic Chemistry

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang A. Herrmann received the Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award in 2019 "in recognition of his extraordinary life's work both as a scientist and as a pioneer, role model and catalyst of higher education in his role as President".

Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Prof. Stephen L. Buchwald, Ph.D. received the Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award in 2018 “in appreciation of his extraordinary contributions to the art and science of catalytic synthetic methods, especially for CC- and CN-coupling reactions with their impact on organic synthesis and the pharmaceutical industry”.

Executive Director of the Leibniz Institute for Catalysis at the University of Rostock (Germany)

Prof. Dr. Matthias Beller received the Dr. Karl Wamsler Innovation Award in 2017 “in recognition of his internationally outstanding innovations in the field of interdisciplinary homogenous and heterogeneous catalysis, through which he has made possible innovative and environmentally friendly applications in the chemical industry”.

In brackets: Year in which the award was received

The information provided on each of the laureates was up to date at the time the award was received.