The Ludwig Medal as part of the celebration to mark the 150th anniversary of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) shows a portrait of the founding king Ludwig II. and the clock tower of the university.Image: Uli Benz

Ludwig Medal

The Technical University of Munich (TUM) is awarding the Ludwig Medal as part of the celebrations to mark its 150th anniversary. Over the course of the anniversary year 2018, the President will award the medal to members of the university who have shown exceptional commitment and rendered great services to the Technical University of Munich. 

The medal is named after the founder of today’s university, Ludwig II, King of Bavaria. On April 12th 1868, he signed the decree for the establishment of the “Royal Bavarian Polytechnic School of Munich”.

The following people and organisations received the Ludwig Medal in the anniversary year 2018:


Clarissa Ruge

Dr. Clarissa Ruge received the Gold Ludwig Medal on June 20, 2018, in honor of the innovative films she submitted as part of the celebrations marking the 150th anniversary of the founding of TUM.

Tanja Jovanovic

Structural Planning Development Munich Campus

Tanja Jovanovic received the Gold Ludwig Medal on April 13, 2018, “to mark the opening of the Tschira Forum, in recognition of her highly dedicated efforts on behalf of the restoration of TUM’s older buildings and especially during the reinforcement works carried out on the historical buildings on the main university campus on Arcisstrasse”.

Klaus Tschira Foundation

The Klaus Tschira Foundation received the Gold Ludwig Medal on April 13, 2018, “in recognition of the generous contribution made to the restoration of the historical clock tower, the interior of which has been redesigned to house the Tschira Forum, an impressive space for events and representative purposes".


Veronika Diem

Deputy Head of Department Acquisitions & Cataloguing, University Library

Dr. Veronika Diem received the Silver Ludwig Medal on July 26, 2018, in honor of her exceptional voluntary commitment to TUM’s Program for Refugees.

The information provided on each of the laureates was up to date at the time the award was received.

Contact Office of the President

Dr. rer. pol. Christine Rupp
Technical University of Munich
Arcisstraße 21
80333 München

Tel. +49 89 289 25201
Fax +49 89 289 23399