Collaborative Research Centers (SFB)

Here you will find an overview of all Collaborative Research Centers the Technical University of Munich is involved in.

What are Collaborative Research Centers?

  • Collaborative Research Centers (CRC; short SFB for german ‘Sonderforschungsbereich’) are university research projects which are funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG), generally for a period of up to 12 years.
  • Transregional Collaborative Research Centers (referred to as TRR) are created when two or three universities apply for funding and jointly steer the research project.
  • Sub-projects of other universities or research institutes may be involved.
  • Collaborative Research Centers provide a platform for conducting complex, long-term research.
  • In particular, they support the professional development of young scientists, promoting cooperation across different disciplines, fields of specialization, institutes and faculties.
  • These collaborative alliances strengthen the academic relationships between universities and other research institutes.

For further information about Collaboration Research Centers, please consult the website of the DFG.

12 Collaborative Research Centers coordinated by TUM

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Markus Schwaiger (Chair of Nuclear Clinic and Policlinic at the TUM School of Medicine)
Funding: since 2009

Project description of SFB 824 on the DFG website

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Matthias Rief (Chair of Molecular Biophysics at the Department of Physics)
Funding: since 2010

Project description of SFB 863 on the DFG website

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Claus Schwechheimer (Chair of Plant Systems Biology at the TUM School of Life Sciences)
Funding: since 2011

Project description of SFB 924 at the DFG website

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Johannes Buchner (Chair of Biotechnology at the Department of Chemistry)
Funding: since 2012

Project description of SFB 1035 on the DFG website

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Elisa Resconi (Professor of Experimental Physics with Cosmic Particles at the Department of Physics)
Funding: since 2017

Project description of SFB 1258 on the DFG website

Speaker: Prof. Dr. med. Roland M. Schmid (II. Medical Clinic and Policlinic)
Funding: since 2018

Project description of SFB 1321 on the DFG website

Speaker: Prof. Dr. med. Jürgen Ruland (Chair of Clinical Chemistry and Pathobiochemistry)
Funding: since 2018

Project description of SFB 1335 on the DFG website

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Dirk Haller (Chair of Nutrition and Immunology at the TUM School of Life Sciences)
Funding: since 2019

Project description of SFB 1371 on the DFG website

Speaker: Professor Dr. Stefan Engelhardt (Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology)
Funding: since 2019

Project description of TRR 267 on the DFG website

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Mikael Simons (Institute of Neuronal Cell Biology)
Funding: since January 2020

Project description of TRR 274 on the DFG website

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Thorsten Bach (Chair of Organic Chemistry I)
Funding: since July 2021

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Dirk Busch (Director of the Institute for Medical Microbiology, Immunology and Hygiene)
Funding: since July 2021

Collaborative Research Centers with TUM participation

TRR 80: From Electronic Correlations to Functionality

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Philipp Gegenwart (University of Augsburg)
Co-speaker: Prof. Dr. Christian Pfleiderer (Technical University of Munich)
Funding: since 2010

TRR 89: Invasive Computing

Speaker: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Teich (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg)
Co-speaker: Prof. Dr. Andreas Herkersdorf (Technical University of Munich)
Funding: since 2010

TRR 109: Discretisation in Geometry and Dynamics

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Alexander Bobenko (Technische Universität Berlin)
Co-speaker: Prof. Dr. Folkmar Bornemann (Technical University of Munich)
Funding: since 2012

TRR 110: Symmetries and the Emergence of Structure in Quantum Chromodynamics (QCD)

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Ulf Meißner Rheinische (University of Bonn)
Funding: since 2012

TRR 128: Initiating/Effector versus Regulatory Mechanisms in Multiple Sclerosis - Progress towards Tackling the Disease

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Heinz Wiendl (University of Münster)
Funding: since 2012

TRR 179: Determinants and dynamics of elimination versus persistence of hepatitis virus infection

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Ralf Bartenschlager (Heidelberg University)
Co-speaker: Prof. Dr. Ulrike Protzer (Technical University of Munich)
Funding: since 2016

TRR 235: Emergence of life: exploring mechanisms with cross-disciplinary experiments

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Dieter Braun (LMU Munich)
Co-speaker: Prof. Dr. Ulrich Gerland (Technical University of Munich)
Funding: since 2018

TRR 277: Additive Manufacturing in Construction. The Challenge of Large Scale

Speaker: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Harald Kloft (TU Braunschweig)
Co-Speaker: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christoph Gehlen (Technical University of Munich)
Funding: since 2020

SFB 814: Additive Manufacturing

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Dietmar Drummer (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg)
Funding: since 2011

SFB 870: Assembly and Function of Neuronal Circuits in Sensory Processing

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Benedikt Grothe (LMU Munich)
Funding: since 2010

SFB 1032: Nanoagents for Spatio-temporal Control of Molecular and Cellular Reactions

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Joachim Rädler (LMU Munich)
Funding : since 2012

SFB 1054: Control and Plasticity of Cell-Fate Decisions in the Immune System

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Thomas Brocker (LMU Munich)
Funding: since 2013

SFB 1064: Chromatin Dynamics

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Peter Burkhard Becker (LMU Munich)
Funding : since 2013

SFB 1123: Atherosclerosis: Mechanisms and Networks of Novel Therapeutic Targets

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Christian Weber (LMU Munich)
Funding: since 2014

SFB 1277: Emergent Relativistic Effects in Condensed Matter: From Fundamental Aspects to Electronic Functionalitytät

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Klaus Richter (Universität Regensburg)
Funding: since 2017

SFB 1309: Chemical Biology of Epigenetic Modifications

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Thomas Carell (LMU Munich)
Funding: since 2018

SFB 1320: EASE – Everyday Activity Science and Engineering

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Michael Beetz (University of Bremen)
Funding: since 2017

SFB 1330: Hearing Acoustics: Perceptual Principles, Algorithms and Applications

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Volker Hohmann (Oldenburg University)
Funding: since 2018

SFB 1366: Vascular Control of Organ Function

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Hellmut G. Augustin (Heidelberg University)
Funding: since 2019

SFB 1415: Chemistry of Synthetic Two-Dimensional Materials

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Xinliang Feng (TU Dresden)
Funding: since 2020

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Belzig (University of Konstanz)
Funding: since 2021

SFB 1441: Tracking the Active Site in Heterogeneous Catalysis for Emission Control (TrackAct)

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Jan-Dierk Grunwaldt (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)
Funding: since 2021

TRR 127: Biology of Xenogeneic Cell and Organ Transplantation – From Bench to Bedside

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Eckhard Wolf (LMU Munich)
Funding: since 2012

TRR 152: TRiPs to Homeostasis: Maintenance of Body Homeostasis by Transient Receptor Potential Channel Modules

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Thomas Gudermann (LMU Munich)
Funding: since 2014

TRR 165: Waves to Weather

Speaker: Prof. Dr. George Craig (LMU Munich)
Funding: since 2015

TRR 174: Spatiotemporal dynamics of bacterial cells

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Martin Thanbichler (University of Marburg)
Funding: since 2017

TRR 205: The Adrenal: Central Relay in Health and Disease

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Stefan R. Bornstein (TU Dresden)
Funding: since 2017

TRR 237: Nucleic Acid Immunity

Speaker: Prof. Dr. med. Gunther Hartmann (University of Bonn)
Funding: since 2018

TRR 326: Geometry and Arithmetic of Uniformized Structures (GAUS)

Speaker: Prof. Dr. Jakob Stix (Goethe University Frankfurt/Main)
Funding: since July 2021