TUM – Technical University of Munich Menu
  • Campus news

Renowned sociologist new to the supervisory board of TUM

Heather Hofmeister appointed to Board of Trustees

Prof. Heather Hofmeister is new external member of the Board of Trustees of the Technical University of Munich (TUM). The university's supervisory board consists of ten external members, who are are prominent leaders in the fields of science, culture, business and politics, and ten internal members. This governance model, first practiced at TUM in 1998, is now widely used in the German university landscape.

US-born Heather Hofmeister received her doctorate from Cornell University in the United States in 2002 and subsequently worked at the Universities of Bamberg and Bielefeld. In 2007 she was appointed by RWTH Aachen University as Professor of Sociology with specialties in Gender and Life Course Research. From 2008 to 2011, she became the first woman in the university' s Rectorate to be Vice Rector for Human Resources Management and Development. Since 2011 she holds a professorship in Sociology of Work at the Goethe University Frankfurt and is co-director of the Center for Leadership and Behavior in Organizations. Heather Hofmeister is already associated with the TUM as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Institute for Advanced Study

The other external members of the TUM Board of Trustees are:

  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Otmar Wiestler
    President of the Helmholtz Association
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner
    Member of the Shareholders' Committee C.H. Boehringer Sohn AG & Co. KG
  • Dr. Wolfgang Büchele 
    Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Exyte AG
  • Joe Kaeser
    President and CEO Siemens AG
  • Dr. Nicola Leibinger-Kammüller
    President and Chair of the Management Board Trumpf GmbH + Co. KG
  • Dipl.-Ing. Harald Krüger 
  • Barbara Stamm
    President of the Bavarian State Parliament, ret.
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Stratmann
    President of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
  • Ulrich Wilhelm
    General Director of Bavarian Broadcasting 

Corporate Communications Center

Technical University of Munich Andreas Schmidt

Article at tum.de

Prof. Thomas Hofmann wird im Oktober 2019 neuer Präsident der TUM. (Bild: A. Heddergott / TUM)

Thomas Hofmann elected as TUM’s new President

The Board of Trustees of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) has elected Prof. Thomas Hofmann (50) as the new President of TUM. The experienced university manager has held the position of Senior Vice President Research...

Prof. Claudia Peus und Prof. Juliane Winkelmann, die neuen Mitglieder des TUM-Präsidiums.

Two new vice presidents at TUM

The Board of Trustees of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) has unanimously elected two new Vice Presidents. The economist Prof. Claudia Peus will become Senior Vice President Talent Management and Diversity. The...