TUM – Technical University of Munich Menu

The TUM Senate

The TUM Senate is the university's highest academic authority and has 11 voting members.

The role of the TUM Senate

The TUM Senate makes decisions on

  • regulations issued by the university 
  • matters of fundamental importance to the research / promotion of young scientific and artistic talents and to compliance with the university's equal opportunity program 
  • applications to set up collaborative research centers, graduate programs and other such organizations and institutes 
  • proposals concerning the establishment / modification / cancellation of degree programs 
  • proposals concerning the appointment of honorary professors 
  • the bestowment of the titles of honorary senate member, honorary citizen and honorary member of the university
  • the endorsement of proposals concerning the appointment of external members of the TUM Board of Trustees


  • key research areas


  • on proposals concerning faculty appointments

gives its consent to

  • the decision of the president concerning the conferment of the “TUM Distinguished Affiliated Professor” honorary professorship


  • the ombudsperson responsible for inquiring into allegations of scientific misconduct 
  • the gender equality officer of the university


The Senate has 11 voting members. It is made up of faculty members (6), scientific/artistic or other associates (2), the university's gender equality officer, a member of the assembly of doctoral candidates (TUM-specific and only in an advisory capacity) and student representatives (2).


Vice Chair

Faculty representatives

Representative of the scientific staff

Representative of the non-scientific staff

Gender equality officer

Representative of the TUM Graduate Council (in advisory capacity)

Students representatives