Students at TUM Asia in Singapore
The next generation of talent: TUM Asia prepares its students for management roles in a rapidly evolving economy.Image: TUM Asia

Singapore: TUM Asia

TUM Asia is bringing German engineering excellence to the technology hub of Southeast Asia. The Asian home of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) in Singapore became the first overseas campus of a German university in 2002. Here, TUM offers study programs tailored to careers in industry and is conducting research to develop mobility solutions for the future.

Degree programs: Bachelor, Master and professional training

The programs offered by TUM Asia are tailored to concrete needs of various industries. Here, internationally renowned German engineering skills are passed on to students from all over the world, who simultaneously gain valuable insights into Southeast Asian culture. Professors travel from Germany to Singapore for lectures, bolstered by  lecturing staff from top-ranking partner universities in Singapore. The Bachelor students write their thesis at TUM in Germany. At the end of their studies, they receive a fully fledged qualification from the Technical University of Munich.

Degree programs (TUM Asia homepage):

Research: The future of mobility

As part of the TUM CREATE joint research project, TUM and Nanyang Technological University (NTU) are developing solutions for mobility in tropical megacities with support from the National Research Foundation Singapore. At the CREATE campus, TUM is collaborating with other top international universities like ETH Zurich and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), which have established research centers there.

Project phases

"The path to our international reputation"

Wolfgang A. Herrmann, President of TUM: "We are the first German university to venture beyond our home country – a bold step on the path to our international reputation."

Videos: Find out more about TUM Asia (YouTube playlist)

Milestones since 2002

2002: Uncharted terrain

In 2002, the Economic Development Board of Singapore launched the Global Schoolhouse Initiative, aimed at developing the Southeast Asian city-state’s reputation as a center of excellence in education and attracting both local and international students.

TUM became one of the first overseas universities to establish a base there at the invitation of the Singaporean government – making it the first German state university to set up an overseas campus.

The privately operated subsidiary of TUM started life as the German Institute of Science and Technology – now renamed as TUM Asia.

Industrial Chemistry (M.Sc.) was the first program with a degree qualification awarded by TUM and the National University of Singapore (NUS).

"We were stepping into completely uncharted terrain for a German university," commented Wolfgang A. Herrmann on the occasion of the tenth anniversary of TUM Asia in 2012.

2002 – 2009: Attractive programs

Industrial Ecology (M.Sc.) – introduced in 2004 – was the first program offered by TUM in Singapore in conjunction with Nanyang Technological University (NTU). Further Master programs in cooperation with NTU and the National University of Singapore (NUS) soon followed.

The first TUM-only program – introduced in 2009 – was Transport and Logistics (M.Sc.), renamed as Rail, Transport and Logistics in 2019.

Several industry partners support the students at the German Institute of Science and Technology (GIST) either in the form of generous grants or by offering work placements or thesis projects – both in Germany and Singapore.

GIST became TUM’s second home outside Germany and the university’s one and only overseas campus. It was renamed TUM Asia in 2009.

2010 – 2011: Research on the future of mobility

In 2010 Electrical Engineering and Information Technology (B.Sc.) became the first Bachelor program with a TUM qualification offered in Singapore. The course is delivered in cooperation with the newly established Singapore Institute for Technology (SIT).

This was soon followed by the TUMCREATE research project, where scientists from TUM collaborate with colleagues from Nanyang Technological University (NTU) to find mobility solutions for the future.

The National Research Foundation Singapore funds this joint project spearheaded by two of the world’s leading technical universities. At the Campus for Research Excellence And Technological Enterprise (CREATE), TUM collaborates with other top international universities including ETH Zurich and MIT.

2012 – 2014: The turn of a decade

TUM celebrated the tenth anniversary of TUM Asia in 2012. The anniversary dinner, hosted by TUM President Wolfgang A. Herrmann, was attended by guests from government circles, academia and industry.

The close partnership with Singapore was underlined by the joint TUM and TUM Asia "Building the Future"  program, set up in conjunction with the Straits Times School Pocket Money Fund. Running from 2013 to 2015, the project gave schoolkids from underprivileged families in Singapore the opportunity to travel to Munich and experience the research environment in place at TUM

At the Tokyo Motor Show 2013, TUMCREATE unveiled its e-taxi EVA for tropical megacities. EVA was the first of many innovations and developments  inspired by the joint research project run by TUM and Nanyang Technological University (NTU).

Over 1,000 graduates had obtained a qualification from TUM Asia by the summer of 2014. Alumni have established careers in diverse sectors in far-flung destinations, including in Africa and South America.

Since 2015: The next generation

TUM Asia’s home since 2015 has been the SIT@SP-campus, where all Bachelor and Master students were brought together at a single location for the first time.

New professional training courses were introduced in 2016 to complement TUM Asia’s degree programs. Advanced Digital Manufacturing (Specialist Diploma) is the first of these short programs. They provide the competencies and skills which are increasingly being sought by industry in Singapore.

TUM – Technische Universität München Menü

Singapur: TUM Asia

Deutsche Ingenieurskunst am Technologie-Hotspot Südostasiens: TUM Asia ist der Campus der Technischen Universität München (TUM) in Singapur – und war 2002 die erste Dependance einer deutschen Universität im Ausland. Hier bietet die TUM ein auf Karrieren in der Industrie zugeschnittenes Studium und entwickelt Lösungen für die Mobilität der Zukunft.

Studienangebot: Bachelor, Master & Weiterbildung

Die Studienangebote von TUM Asia ist zugeschnitten auf die Praxis in der Industrie. Sie vermitteln das weltweit gerühmte German Engineering, während die aus aller Welt kommenden Studierenden zudem die die Kultur Südostasien verstehen lernen. Professorinnen und Professoren reisen für die Vorlesungen aus Deutschland nach Singapur, andere Dozierende wiederum von hochkarätigen Partnerunis  in Singapur. Die Bachelor-Studierenden schreiben Ihre Abschlussarbeit an der TUM in Deutschland. Am Ende steht ein vollwertiger Abschluss der Technischen Universität München.

Studiengangebot (TUM Asia-Homepage):

Forschung: Die Mobilität der Zukunft

Im gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekt TUM CREATE entwickeln die TUM und die Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Lösungen für die Mobilität in tropischen Megacities, gefördert durch die National Research Foundation Singapurs. Am CREATE-Campus ist die TUM mit weiteren weltweiten Spitzenuniversitäten vernetzt, die dort Forschungsniederlassungen gegründet haben – etwa der ETH Zürich und dem Massachussets Institute of Technology (MIT).

Projektphasen

"Der Weg zu unserer internationalen Reputation"

Wolfgang A. Herrmann, langjähriger Präsident der TUM: "Wir sind als erste deutsche Universität über unsere Heimatland hinausgewachsen – ein gewagter Schritt, der uns jedoch den Weg zu unserer internationalen Reputation geebnet hat."

Videos: Lernen Sie TUM Asia kennen (Youtube-Playlist)

Meilensteine seit 2002

2002: Unbekanntes Terrain

Im Jahr 2002 startet das Economic Development Board Singapurs die Global Schoolhouse-Initiative, um die Reputation des südostasiatischen Stadtstaats als exzellentem Bildungsstandort zu stärken und Studierende aus dem In- und Ausland anzuziehen.

Die TUM ist eine der ersten Universitäten aus dem Ausland, die auf Einladung des singapurischen Staats eine Niederlassung aufbauen – und damit die erste deutsche staatliche Universität mit einer Dependance im Ausland.

Die privatwirtschaftliche Tochter der TUM heißt German Institute of Science and Technology – heute bekannt als TUM Asia.

Industrial Chemistry (M.Sc.) ist der erste Studiengang, mit einem Abschluss der TUM und der National University of Singapore (NUS).

„Wir unternahmen einen Schritt in vollkommen unbekanntes Terrain für eine deutsche Universität“, sagt Wolfgang A. Herrmann 2012 anlässlich des zehnjährigen Jubiläums von TUM-Asia.

2002 – 2009: Attraktives Studium

Industrial Ecology (M.Sc.) ist der erste Studiengang, den die TUM ab 2004 in Singapur gemeinsam mit der Nanyang Technological University (NTU) anbietet. Weitere Master-Programme in Kooperation mit der NTU und der National University of Singapore (NUS) kommen hinzu.

Der erste eigenständige TUM-Studiengang ist ab 2009 Transport and Logistics (M.Sc.), der ab 2019 Rail, Transport and Logistics heißt.

Viele Industrie-Partner unterstützen die Studierenden am German Institute of Science and Technology (GIST) mit großzügigen Stipendien, während andere Praktikumsplätze oder Projekte für die Abschlussarbeit anbieten – in Deutschland wie auch in Singapur.

Als zweite Heimat der TUM außerhalb Deutschlands, und als erster und einziger Auslandscampus der TUM nennt sich das GIST ab 2009 TUM Asia.

2010 – 2011: Forschung für die Mobilität der Zukunft

Electrical Engineering and Information Technology (B.Sc.) ist 2010 der erste Bachelor-Studiengang mit TUM-Abschluss in Singapur. Er wird in Kooperation mit dem neuen Singapore Insitute for Technology (SIT) angeboten.

Kurz darauf entsteht das Forschungsprojekt TUM CREATE, an dem die TUM gemeinsam mit Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern der Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Lösungen für die Mobiliät der Zukunft sucht.

Die National Research Foundation fördert dieses gemeinsame Projekt von zwei der führenden technischen Hochschulen der Welt. Am Campus for Research Excellence And Technological Enterprise (CREATE) vernetzt die TUM sich zudem mit weiteren weltweiten Spitzenuniversitäten wie der ETH Zürich und dem MIT.

2012 – 2014: Start in ein neues Jahrzehnt

2012 feiert TUM Asia sein 10-jähriges Jubiläum. Zum Jubiläumsdinner kommen der Präsident der TUM, Wolfgang A. Herrmann, und weitere Gäste aus Regierung, Wissenschaft und Industrie.

Die enge Partnerschaft mit Singapur würdigen TUM und TUM Asia mit dem „Building the Future“- Programm, das sie gemeinsam mit dem Straight Times School Pocket Money Fund ins Leben rufen. Von 2013 bis 2015 reisen Schülerinnen und Schülern aus weniger privilegierten Familien Singapurs nach München und lernen die Forschung an der TUM kennen.

Auf der Tokyo Motor Show 2013 enthüllt TUM CREATE das Elektrotaxi EVA für tropische Megacities. EVA ist das erste von vielen weiteren Innovationen und Entwicklungen aus dem gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekt von TUM und Nanyang Technological University (NTU).

Über 1000 Absolventinnen und Absolventen haben bis zum Sommer 2014 einen Abschluss von TUM Asia erhalten. Alumni arbeiten in unterschiedlichen Branchen auf verschiedenen Kontinenten, einige zum Beispiel in Afrika und Südamerika.

Seit 2015: Die nächste Generation

Heimat von TUM Asia ist seit 2015 der SIT@SP-campus, auf dem erstmals alle Bachelor- und Masterstudierenden an einem Ort studieren.

Neue Weiterbildungskurse ergänzen seit 2016 das Studiengangebot der TUM in Asien. Advanced Digital Manufacturing (Specialist Diploma) ist das erste dieser kurzen Programme. Sie vermitteln Kompetenzen und Fertigkeiten, wie sie in Singapurs Industrie verstärkt benötigt werden.