TUM – TUM – Menu

An international university

Winning the world's best brains, forging alliances with leading universities and companies, maintaining a strong alumni network: These are the goals the Technical University of Munich (TUM) has set itself as an internationally competitive university. It is not origin that counts at TUM, but talent and passion for science.

The world of TUM in Munich: Studying together in the beer garden.
The world of TUM in Munich: Studying together in the beer garden.Image: Uli Benz

New to Munich? The Welcome Office will gladly help further. This is the information center for international students, graduate students and visiting scholars. It provides advice for example on accommodation, taxes, insurance, visas and right of entry. Contact and advice

TUM Asia: The futuristic campus of the TUM in Singapore.
TUM Asia: The futuristic campus of the TUM in Singapore.Image: TUM

TUM feels at home all over the world. It has representative offices in Africa, Asia, North and South America and Europe. Here it initiates research collaborations and exchanges with scientists and students. As the first German university in 2002, it opened its own branch abroad: TUM Asia in Singapore. All TUM-locations worldwide

Signed and sealed: Four major technical universities in Europe join the alliance “EuroTech Universities”.
Signed and sealed: Four major technical universities in Europe join the alliance “EuroTech Universities”.Image: Eckert

With over 170 partner universities on all continents, TUM is interconnected, promoting the exchange of students, researchers and joint research projects. The University is active in international networks with the aim of pursuing strategic objectives collaboratively. For no country and no university can master the challenges of our time on its own. International Alliances

Go Global

TUM stands for openness and international academic exchange.

  • Going Abroad: ERASMUS-exchange, internships or research abroad. We support our students and staff, who wish to gain international experience. More about going abroad
  • Studying at TUM: Master's programs in English and double-degree agreements make studying at the TUM attractive for students from all around the world. International Study Programs
  • Researchers from abroad: We want to attract talent from around the world to TUM and we offer excellent working conditions that meet high international standards.
Technologist - The science magazine by the four EuroTech Universities.
Technologist - The science magazine by the four EuroTech Universities.

“Innovation. Explained” is the motto of “Technologist”. The science magazine is an initiative by the EuroTech Universities Alliance, bringing together the best and most exciting research from Europe and beyond. It is published in 20 European countries and avalaible in English, French and German. Read selected articles online

Research

TUM sees itself as a servant for an innovative society. In international projects, it seeks answers to pressing issues of our time. For example:

  • Electric taxis for the tropics: the TUM Research Campus in Singapore CREATE plans to sustainably reduce CO2 emissions in tropical mega-cities with electric taxis.
  • Green technologies: solar and wind energy and energy-efficient construction. In the project “GreenTech”, young researchers at the four EuroTech-Universities intend to develop innovative approaches to renewable energy.
  • Forests in the desert: In just seven years, in the desert of Egypt, forests reaching up to 15 meters have been grown in an area ten times as large as Munich's English Garden. The idea behind it: pre-cleaning waste water from the Nile Delta and growing trees in the Sahara with it. This has a positive effect on the climate and, at the same time, is easy on the water of the largest river in Africa. Read the article
  • ESA GOCE satellite: The research satellite has been orbiting Earth since 2009, mapping the gravity of the planet with unprecedented precision. Its data helps us to better understand the world. TUM is significantly involved in this project. GOCE

Contact

International Center
Technical University of Munich
Arcisstr. 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 28382
Fax +49 89 289 25458
internationalcenter@tum.de
www.international.tum.de

Contact

International Center
Technical University of Munich
Arcisstr. 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 28382
Fax +49 89 289 25458
internationalcenter@tum.de
www.international.tum.de

TUM – TUM – Menü

Die internationale Universität

Die besten Köpfe weltweit gewinnen. Allianzen mit den führenden Hochschulen und Unternehmen schmieden. Das Netzwerk der Alumni erweitern und beleben. Das sind die Ziele der Technischen Universität München (TUM) als international wettbewerbsfähige Universität. Nicht die Herkunft ist für die TUM entscheidend, sondern Talent und Leidenschaft für die Wissenschaft.

Zwei junge Frauen arbeiten im Biergarten mit ihren Unterlagen.
Zusammen im Biergarten studieren.Bild: Uli Benz

Neu in München? Die TUM hilft Ihnen weiter. Wir beraten Sie zum Beispiel bei der Woh­nungs­­­­su­­che oder bei Fragen zu Vi­sum, Einreise, Steuern und Ver­si­che­run­gen. TUM.Family und das Munich Dual Career Office unterstützen Mitarbeitende und ihre Familien beim Neueinstieg in München. Kontakt und Beratung

Der Campus von TUM Asia in Singapur - außenansicht zweier blauer Hochhaus-Türme in Singapur.
TUM Asia: Der futuristische Campus der TUM in Singapur.Bild: TUM

Die TUM ist international zu Hause. Sie unterhält Vertretungen in Afrika, Asien, Nordamerika, Latein­amerika und Europa. Dort initiiert sie Kooperationen und den Austausch von Forschenden und Stu­dierenden. Als ers­te deutsche Universität eröffnete sie 2002 eine ei­ge­ne Dependance im Ausland: TUM Asia in Singapur. Alle TUM-­Stand­or­te welt­weit

Besiegelt: Vier wichtige Technische Hochschulen Europas schließen sich zur Allianz der "EuroTech Universities" zusammen.
Besiegelt: Vier wichtige Technische Hochschulen Europas schließen sich zur Allianz der "EuroTech Universities" zusammen.Bild: Eckert

Mit über 170 Partnerhochschulen auf allen Kontinenten ist die TUM vernetzt – für den Austausch von Studierenden, Forschenden und für gemeinsame Pro­jek­te. Die Universität ist in internationalen Netzwerken aktiv, um stra­te­gi­sche Ziele gemeinsam zu verfolgen. Denn kein Land, keine Universität kann die Herausforderungen unserer Zeit alleine bewältigen. Internationale Al­li­an­zen

Go Global

Die TUM steht für Weltoffenheit und inter­nationalen wissenschaftlichen Austausch.

  • Ins Ausland gehen: ERASMUS-Austausch, Praktikum oder For­schungs­auf­ent­halt im Ausland. Wir unterstützen unsere Studierenden und Mitarbeitenden dabei, international Erfahrung zu sammeln. Auslandsaufenthalte
  • Studieren an der TUM: Master-Studiengänge auf Englisch und Double-Degree-Abkommen machen das Studium an der TUM für Studierende aus aller Welt attraktiv. Internationale Studiengänge
  • Forscher aus dem Ausland: Wir gewinnen Talente aus aller Welt für die TUM und bieten ihnen hervorragende Arbeitsbedingungen auf hohem in­ter­na­tio­na­len Niveau.
Technologist - Das Wissenschaftsmagazin der vier EuroTech Universitäten
Technologist - Das Wissenschaftsmagazin der vier EuroTech Universitäten

„Innovation. Explained“ ist das Motto des neuen Forschungs­ma­ga­zins „Technologist“, einem ge­mein­sa­men Projekt der vier EuroTech Universitäten. Es informiert aus europäischer Perspektive über ak­tu­el­le Forschungsthemen und erscheint in 20 europäischen Ländern auf Englisch, Französisch und Deutsch. Ausgewählte Artikel online lesen

Forschung

Die TUM steht im Dienst einer modernen Innovations­gesellschaft. In in­ter­na­tio­na­len Pro­jekten sucht sie Antworten für die drängenden Fra­gen un­se­rer Zeit. Eine Auswahl:

  • Elektro-Taxis für die Tropen: Den Kohlendioxid-Ausstoß in tropischen Me­ga-Cities will der Forschungscampus TUM Create in Singapur mit einem Elek­tro-Taxi nach­haltig re­du­zie­ren. 
  • Grüne Technologien: Sonnen- und Windenergie und energieeffizientes Bau­en. Im Projekt „GreenTech“ sollen Nachwuchsforscher an den vier Eu­ro­Tech-­Uni­ver­sitäten in­no­vative Ansätze für erneuerbare Energien entwickeln.
  • Wälder in der Wüste: In nur sieben Jahren wuchsen in der Wüste Ägyptens bis zu 15 Meter hohe Wälder auf einer Fläche zehn Mal so groß wie Mün­chens Englischer Garten. Die Idee dahinter: Abwasser aus dem Nildelta vorreinigen und damit Bäume in der Sahara aufziehen. Das hat einen positiven Effekt für das Klima und schont gleichzeitig das Wasser im größten Fluss Afrikas.
  • ESA-Satellit GOCE: Der Forschungs-Satellit umkreist seit 2009 die Erde. Er kar­­tiert die Gravitation des Pla­ne­ten mit bisher unerreichter Präzision. Seine Daten helfen uns, die Erde besser zu verstehen. Die TUM ist maß­geb­lich an dem Pro­jekt be­tei­ligt. GOCE

Kontakt

International Center
Technische Universität München
Arcisstr. 21
80333 München

Tel. +49 89 289 28382
Fax +49 89 289 25458
internationalcenter@tum.de
www.international.tum.de

Kontakt

International Center
Technische Universität München
Arcisstr. 21
80333 München

Tel. +49 89 289 28382
Fax +49 89 289 25458
internationalcenter@tum.de
www.international.tum.de