The departments

15 departments form the academic basis of TUM. They represent a portfolio of subjects focusing on natural sciences, engineering sciences, life sciences and medicine, and social sciences with a focus on technolgy. Technology-oriented business management and the TUM School of Education complete these focus areas.

Studying Departments

TUM has several studying departments or study program divisions. They are part of some departments or integrative research centers, where it is their task to organise the study programs.