Research Units (FOR)

Below you find an overview of Research Units coordinated by the Technical University of Munich.

What are Research Units?
  • Research Units (RU; short FOR for German ‘Forschungsgruppen’) are cooperative projects funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) for up to eight years.
  • Research Units are research projects, which, in terms of thematic focus, duration and financial resources, go far beyond the funding options available under Individual Grants or Priority Programmes.
  • Projects are required to be of high scientific quality and originality on an international level.
  • Funding is to be applied for different modules; Emmy Noether Independent Junior Research Groups and Heisenberg grant holders may be associated.
  • Research cooperation between universities and external partners are deepened through individual projects and modules both on a national and international level.

For further information on Research Units, please consult the website of the DFG.

Research Units coordinated by TUM

Technical University of Munich

Office for Research and Innovation (TUM ForTe)
Arcisstr. 21
80333 München
Tel: +49 89 289 25236


Are you planning to submit a proposal for a collaborative project?

The National Research Funding Support offers advice on applications for 

  • Collaborative Research Centers/Transregios, 
  • Research Training Groups, 
  • Priority Programs and
  • Research Units. 

TUM supports professors who are preparing proposals with TUM as the lead coordinator/spokesperso with the TUM Seed Fund.