Nobel Prizes

In his will, the Swedish inventor and industrialist Alfred Nobel (1833–1896) stipulated that a portion of his estate should be used to endow prizes which would be awarded to those who, “during the preceding year, shall have conferred the greatest benefit to mankind”.

In addition to a monetary prize and a certificate, Nobel laureates also receive a gold medal bearing the portrait of Alfred Nobel.

12/7/23 – 02/18/24: Photo exhibition with supporting program

Nobel Heroes: Encounter Nobel Laureates and their stories

Photographer Peter Badge has portrayed all living Nobel Laureates beginning in 2000. With his exhibition and an inspiring supporting program we now celebrate the founding of the Center for Culture and Arts. Come along from Dec 7, 2023 – and on Dec 11 join the exhibition’s opening ceremony at the Audimax with the artist and with Nobel Laureate for Medicine Louis J. Ignarro.

Nobel Heroes: Complete program


The Nobel Prize has been awarded annually since 1901 and is recognised today as the highest accolade for achievements in chemistry, medicine, physics, literature, economics, and for contributions to world peace.

To date (as of 2022), 18 scientists and alumni of the TUM have received the Nobel Prize:






In brackets: Year in which the award was received

* = not yet at TUM when the award was received


Technical University of Munich
Henrike Kück
Presidential Office
Arcisstraße 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 22516
Fax +49 89 289 23399

Presidential Office: Entire team