Bavarian Order of Merit

The Bavarian Order of Merit is awarded by the Bavarian Prime Minister on a yearly basis as “a sign of grateful recognition for outstanding achievements and service rendered to the Free State of Bavaria and the Bavarian people”.

The gynecologist Professor Marion Kiechle received the Bavarian Order of Merit in 2015.

The Order was established in 1957 and is conferred on women and men irrespective of nationality. The number of living members of the order is limited to 2000.

The following members of the TUM have been awarded the Bavarian Order of Merit:


In brackets: Year in which the award was presented.
* = not yet at TUM when the award was received.
The information provided on the laureates refers to the time when the award was presented.


Technical University of Munich
Birgit Reinbold
Presidential Office
Arcisstraße 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 22516

Presidential Office: Entire team