US National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a US non-profit scientific society. According to its founding statute, the academy’s objective is to provide independent and objective advice to the authorities and government of the USA on issues concerning science and technology.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) consists of over 2 500 leading scholars working in various disciplines both in the USA and abroad. Admission to the academy is granted exclusively on the basis of nomination and election by other members.

The following members of the TUM have been admitted to the NAS:


In brackets: Year in which the award was received

The information provided was current at the time the award was received.


Technical University of Munich
Birgit Reinbold
Presidential Office
Arcisstraße 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 22516

Presidential Office: Entire team