Academic Awards and Honors

Numerous Nobel Prizes, Leibniz Prizes and Humboldt Professorships: Academics of the TUM are regularly honored with major science awards. The university also confers some prestigious awards and honors of its own.

University of Excellence

As announced in July 2019, TUM has secured the title "University of Excellence" for the third time in succession. This makes it the only technical university in Germany to have held the title consecutively since 2006.

TUM Agenda 2030

Further awards for members of university

Besides such famous scientific awards as the Nobel Prize, members of the TUM regularly receive a number of other prestigious accolades. Many of the university's members are, furthermore, members of notable scientific associations.

Read more

Awards presented by the university

The TUM also awards a range of prestigious prizes and honors itself. These prizes are conferred in recognition of, for instance, important contributions to teaching and research, innovative ideas and outstanding commitment to the university.

Read more


Technical University of Munich
Henrike Kück
Presidential Office
Arcisstraße 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 25273
Fax +49 89 289 23399

Presidential Office: Entire team