Friedrich Wilhelm Joseph von Schelling Prize

The Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities presents the Friedrich Wilhelm Joseph von Schelling Prize to excellent researchers in honor of outstanding achievements or of their life’s work.

The physicist Professor Gerhard Abstreiter was the first scientist to receive the Schelling Prize.

The prize has been awarded every other year since 2006, alternating each time between fields from the humanities and from the natural sciences. The prize carries a monetary award to the value of €25 000 and is only presented to researchers who are not already members of the Academy.

The following members of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) have received the Schelling Prize:


In brackets: Year in which the award was received

* = not yet at TUM when the award was received


Technical University of Munich
Henrike Kück
Presidential Office
Arcisstraße 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 25273
Fax +49 89 289 23399

Presidential Office: Entire team