TUM University Council

The TUM University Council promotes the interests of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) in public and acts as the university's ambassador. It offers its advice to the university and supports it in the accomplishment of its tasks. The members of the TUM University Council have a profound understanding of the university's affairs.



Georg Freiherr von Waldenfels

Former Bavarian State Minister of Finance
Of Counsel at Clifford Chance Germany LLP

Deputy Chair

Karin E. Oechslein

Director, National Institute for Education Standards and Research
Spokesperson for TUM's reference schools

Further Members

Regina Bichlmaier


Hubert Bittlmayer

Amtschef of the Bavarian State Ministry for Food, Agriculture and Forestry

Natascha Eckert

Head of University Relations, Siemens AG

Tobias Eschenbacher

Mayor, University City Freising

S. D.Albrecht Fürst zu Oettingen-Spielberg

TUM Alumnus (Physics)

Alfred Gaffal

Honorary president, vbw – Bavarian Industry Association

Josef Geiger

President, Bavarian Building Industry Association

Georg Grabner

Former District Administrator Berchtesgadener Land
Awarded with the university's Golden Honorary Ring

Dietmar Gruchmann

Mayor, University Town Garching

Honrary senator
Gerhard Hess

Gottfried Langenstein

Former president of ARTE and chairman of the 3sat board of management

Otto Majewski

Head, Karl Max von Bauernfeind e.V.
Sponsor of the Scholarship program "Deutschlandstipendium“
Honorary citizen of TUM

Prof. Dr.
Angelika Niebler, MEP

Member of the European Parliament

Markus Pannermayr

1st Mayor of Straubing

Prof. Dipl.-Ing.
Mathias Pfeil

General Curator,Bavarian Office for the Conservation of Historical Monuments

Susanne Porsche


S.K.H. Ludwig Prinz von Bayern

Dieter Reiter

1st Mayor of Munich

Bettina Reitz

President, University of Television and Film (HFF)

Manfred Stefener


Honorary Senator
Hans Steindl

Former 1st Mayor of Burghausen

Prof. Dr. Dr.
Johannes Wallacher

President of the Munich School of Philosophy

Sylke Wischnevsky

Principal, Otto-von-Taube-Gymnasium in Gauting

Permanent Visitors

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult.
Wolfgang A. Herrmann

President emeritus of TUM (1995–2019)

Prof. Dr.
Wolfgang Wild

President emeritus of TUM (1980–1986)
Former Bavarian State Minister for Science and the Arts