Ludwig Medal

The TUM is awarding the Ludwig Medal as part of the celebrations to mark its 150th anniversary. Over the course of the anniversary year 2018 the President will award the medal to members of the university who have shown exceptional commitment and rendered great services to the university.

Photo of a Ludwig medal in gold and silver

The medal is named after the founder of today’s university, Ludwig II, King of Bavaria. On Easter Sunday in 1868 (April 12th), he signed the decree for the establishment of the “Royal Bavarian Polytechnic School of Munich”.

The following people and organisations received the Ludwig Medal in the anniversary year:




The information provided on each of the laureates was up to date at the time the award was received.


Technical University of Munich
Birgit Reinbold
Presidential Office
Arcisstraße 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 22516

Presidential Office: Entire team