Alfried Krupp Prize for Young University Lecturers

The Krupp Foundation awards the Alfried Krupp Prize to exceptionally talented young professors in natural science and engineering disciplines.

The prize has been presented annually since 1986 and is worth EUR 1 million, earmarked for personnel and material expenses. This funding gives the winners freedom to develop and realize new ideas early on in their professional careers.

The prize is named after Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach (1907–1967), the last sole proprietor of Krupp AG. His assets were bequeathed to a non-profit foundation on his death.

The following members of the TUM have received the Alfried Krupp Prize:


In brackets: Year in which the award was received
* = not yet at TUM when the award was received
The information provided was current at the time the award was received.


Technical University of Munich
Birgit Reinbold
Presidential Office
Arcisstraße 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 22516

Presidential Office: Entire team