Max Jakob Memorial Award

The Max Jakob Memorial Award is presented annually in recognition of eminent achievements in the field of heat transfer made by researchers across the world.

Established in 1961, the award is presented by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE).

The award commemorates the German researcher Max Jakob (1879–1955), a pioneer in the science of heat transfer. Jakob studied at the Technische Hochschule München, the predecessor of the Technical University of Munich (TUM). It was here that he both received his degree in technical physics in 1903 and obtained his doctorate at the department of mechanical engineering in 1905.

The following members of the TUM have received the Max Jakob Memorial Award:


In brackets: Year in which the award was received

The information provided was current at the time the award was received.


Technical University of Munich
Henrike Kück
Presidential Office
Arcisstraße 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 25273
Fax +49 89 289 23399

Presidential Office: Entire team