Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award

Since 2018, the Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award is granted jointly by the Max Planck Society and the Humboldt Foundation for innovative and high-risk scientific projects by international researches.

The award, which is endowed with 1.5 million euros, enables German institutions to attract outstanding researchers from abroad to establish their own research group or to pursue promising research activities in Germany.

From 1990 to 2004, the award was called “Max Planck Research Award for International Cooperation” and was presented to several researchers from a wide range of disciplines each year.

From 2004 to 2017, the "Max Planck Research Award" was awarded annually to two internationally renowned scientists from natural and engineering sciences, life sciences or humanities and social sciences.

The following members of the TUM have been awarded the Max Planck Research Award:


In brackets: Year in which the award was received

The information provided was current at the time the award was received.


Technical University of Munich
Henrike Kück
Presidential Office
Arcisstraße 21
D-80333 Munich

Tel. +49 89 289 25273
Fax +49 89 289 23399

Presidential Office: Entire team